top of page

Blog

First Day....Amazing...!

What a great day we had! Organizing all those supplies always takes longer than I remember it taking. Seriously...like all morning. I need to remember to ask next year that all the scissors, glue bottles, dry erase markers, and earbuds be taken out of their packages! I've decided that earbud packages were made by someone who enjoys cynical comedy. They have become my new school supply nemesis! I even had an epic battle with one package, and ended up cutting the earbud wires in the process....ugh. But...we got through it, and at least now we have things ready to go for the rest of the year.

We all needed a little story time after all that, so we read a couple of my favorite books, including, The Day the Crayons Came Home. This class is sooooo amazing! It was so eerily quiet while I was reading...telling me these kiddos appreciate and love books...yay!

I am really trying to use Kagan Structures this year to help the kids learn and review curriculum. These are cooperative learning techniques that are very structured, and require students to also use their manners, be respectful listeners, and be a good citizen overall. We started today by using the structures to help us get to know our classmates, then we will transition into more curriculum stuff in the following weeks. Look for some great pics on Twitter @toadally2nd.

Here's to a great first day in 2nd grade!!

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page